Accessibility Links
Cookies on our website
By continuing to use this website we will assume you are happy to receive cookies as outlined in our cookie policy
Accept Policy

New Year's Honours list recognises social work professionals

The 2015 New Year’s Honours List has acknowledged the impact of the social work profession, recognising a number of professionals who have dedicated their careers towards helping vulnerable children, families and adults.  

Amongst those receiving awards (which were announced on the 31st December 2014) were Professor Julian Le Grand, who has been awarded a knighthood in recognition of his review of Birmingham children’s services, Anna Van der Gaag, the chair of the HCPC (who has received a CBE) and Beverley Williams, the founder of the Social Worker of the Year Awards who has been given an MBE. 

Sanctuary is pleased to see so many social work professionals recognised by the establishment in this way; it is a sign of how the profession is continuing to evolve and the impact that social services have upon those in need. 

We would like to offer our sincere congratulations to the following people for their achievements:

  • Esther Rantzen, founder, Childline and Silverline. Awarded for services to children and older people.
  • Joyce Plotnikoff.  Awarded for services to vulnerable child witnesses

  • Professor Julian Le Grand, London School of Economics. Awarded for services to Social Science and public service. 

Commander of the British Empire
  • Dr Anna Van Der Gaag, Health and Care Professions Council. Awarded for services to Health and Care
  • Uma Mehta, Islington Borough Council. Awarded for services to children
  • Mrs Patricia Lewsley-Mooney, the commissioner for children and young people in Northern Ireland. Awarded for services to Children's Rights in Northern Ireland

Order of the British Empire
  • Stephanie Brivio,  Assistant director Child Protection, Safeguarding Group, Department for Education. Awarded for services to Child Protection and to the community in Medway. 
  • Dr John Simmonds, British Association for Adoption and Fostering. Awarded for services to Children and Families.
  • Anne Houston, formerly chief executive CHILDREN 1ST. Awarded for services to Children and Young People.
  • Tamsin Baldwin, executive director and trauma care worker, Imara. Awarded for services to child protection 

Member of the British Empire
  • Shabana Iltaf Abasi, Head of Service, Cafcass Greater Manchester. Awarded for services to Children in Greater Manchester.
  • Deborah Bone, Mental Health Nurse, Hertfordshire Community NHS Trust. Awarded for services to Children and Young People
  • Sylvia Donnelly, Higher Officer, Border Force South East and Europe, Home Office. Awarded for services to Child Protection and voluntary service in Canterbury
  • Beverley Williams, Founder, Social Worker of the Year Awards. Awarded for services to the Social Work Profession in England

The full New Years Honours List 2015 can be found on the government website.

Email a friend
Add new comment